Home

Tom Workman as “Alfalfa”

In my recent post about the He-Man Woman Haters Club, I posed the question, “What are you running from?” In the case of incumbant Commissioner Tom Workman (a/k/a Alfalfa) I may have found the answer.

In case you missed it, a group of four candidates for Carver County Commissioner have decided to boycott the League of Women Voters Candidate Forum.  They issued an open letter to the League, and on Monday, the League responded with a letter of their own.

What are you running from?

I received a piece of literature from Workman’s challenger, Cheryl Ayotte, in my copy of the Chanhassen Villager that might help answer the question.  According to the piece, Workman has been working for the County of Carver as a Commissioner, and at the same time working for the County of Hennepin as a registered lobbyist.  While I don’t know if that is illegal or not, the piece raises some questions about who Workman is really working for.

I did a little searching and found that the Philips Community Center was awarded $1.75 million for a new pool back in May. And we all know that the Highway 101 bridge project got $0 from the bonding bill this year.

A little more digging shows http://www.lobbyminnesota.com/team/tom-workman/ Workman’s Lobbying firm.  Under “Key Successes”:

Campo and Associates continuously secures tens of millions annually for Minneapolis Parks and Recreation.

And this little ditty:

Key Lobbyist for the Metropolitan Council, securing funding for Minnesota’s first light rails transit line as well as 22 other successful legislative initiatives.

Key Lobbyist for THE MET COUNCIL?  The Carver County GOP HATES the Met Council, and THEY ENDORSED THIS GUY?!?!?

I don’t think Tom mentioned that on his GOP interview: “Well, my day job is working for a lobbying firm, and we’re very successful, one of our best clients over the years has been the Met Council. But when I put on my County Commissioner hat I will rail against light rail.” And then go get paid to lobby for it in St Paul.

What are you running from?

At least when it comes to Tom Workman, maybe we have the answer.

